Introduction to P4 Language - Theory and Practice:This short course aims to present the P4 language for the Distributed Systems and Networks community in Brazil. The P4 language allows programming the data plane of network devices and has been developed as a language to describe how packets can be processed by general purpose programmable devices such as NetFPGAs, CPUs, NPUs, and ASICs. The short course aims to cover the main theoretical and fundamental aspects of language as well as introduce students to simple practical activities that can give an insight into the operation and general use of the language and its software switch bmv2. The importance of the P4 language is easily noticed when we observe the tutorials that were given at ACM SIGCOMM 2016 and 2017, an event considered by the scientific community to be of excellence. The intention of this short course is, therefore, to prepare a suitable material for the Brazilian community as well as to train human resources so that undergraduate and graduate students can develop their research in this area of ​​knowledge.


  • Moisés Renato Nunes Ribeiro
  • Rodolfo da Silva Villaça
  • Luis Fernando Uria García
  • Regis F. T. Martins (UFSCar)
  • Fábio L. Verdi (UFSCar)
  • Cesar Marcondes (UFSCar)

Theory and Practice in Virtualization of Network Functions in the Cloud Environment:Network Function Virtualization (NFV) addresses efficient virtualization of resources in a network infrastructure. While traditional network services were deployed in specialized hardware, the NFV paradigm enables operator and service providers to build a network infrastructure hosted in the cloud, adding programmability and flexibility to the network. This short course aims to introduce the concepts of NFV and explore OpenStack features which enables the orchestration of Virtualized Network Functions (VNFs) on the cloud.


  • Magnos Martinello
  • Moisés Renato Nunes Ribeiro
  • João Henrique Gonçalves Medeiros Corrêa
  • Diego Giacomelli Cardoso
  • Isabella de Albuquerque Ceravolo
  • Epaminondas Aguiar de Sousa Junior
  • Rodrigo Laiola Guimarães